top of page

Classification of Fats

Updated: Mar 13, 2023

So what are fats? Good fats, bad fats - too much information sometimes makes it confusing.

FutureFit Training provides a well researched post detailing how different fats affect our bodies.

Different foods contain different types of fat. They come in the form of triglycerides with three fatty acids attached to an alcohol glycerol. Fats are classified as saturated, monounsaturated and polyunsaturated based on the number of double bonds between the carbon atoms in the fatty acid chains.

Classification of Fats
Classification of Fats

In saturated fats, there are no double bonds between the carbon atoms. These kinds of fats are generally solid at room temperature, turning into a liquid when heated. They are found in meat, eggs, and dairy but also in coconut, cocoa butter, and palm oil.

Monosaturated fats have one set of carbon atoms that are linked to each other by a double bond. These kinds of fats tend to be solid when refrigerated and turn into a liquid at room temperature.

Olive oil is an ancient food that has been used by people for thousands of years. Unusually, it is extracted from the fruit, rather than a seed, nut, or grain like most other oils.

Source: VeryWell Fit

Monounsaturated oils include olive, canola and peanut. The most important monounsaturated fat present in Olive Oil is Oleic Acid included in omega 9 group.

Olive oil contains no carbohydrates or protein. All of its calories come from fat, mostly monounsaturated, making it an extremely heart healthy addition to your diet.

Finally, polyunsaturated fats have more than one set of carbon atoms bonded to each other by a double bond. Primarily vegetable and fish oils polyunsaturated fats stay liquid at both room temperature and in the refrigerator. Oils in this category include corn, cottonseed, safflower, and sunflower.

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page